Main Menu


2020 WVCTM Conference

Conference 2020 logoConference 2020 logoThe 2020 WVCTM Annual Conference will be held March 13-14, 2020 at Stonewall Jackson Resort in Roanoke, WV.  This year's theme is Blastoff into Math and Technology.  The conference speaker proposal link is now live on our page.  Presenters get free registration for the conference (limit one free presenter registration per session).  We hope to see you at our 2020 WVCTM Annual Conference!

Miami University of Ohio's Project Dragonfly


Miami (of Ohio) University’s Project Dragonfly is accepting applications for 2020 Earth Expeditions graduate courses that offer extraordinary experiences in 16 countries throughout the world.

Earth Expeditions can build toward the Global Field Program (GFP), a master's degree that combines summer field courses worldwide with web learning communities so that students can complete the GFP master's part-time from anywhere in the United States or abroad.

Project Dragonfly also offers the Advanced Inquiry Program (AIP) master's degree that combines web instruction from Miami University with experiential learning and field study through several AIP Master Institutions in the U.S. Applications for Miami's 2020 cohorts are being accepted now with place-based experiences provided at zoos and botanical gardens in Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Denver, New York, San Diego, Seattle, and St. Louis. New for 2020: residents of the Jacksonville, Florida, area can study at Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens, AIP's newest Master Institution, and earn Miami's AIP master's degree.

Graduate tuition for all programs is greatly reduced because of support from Miami University.

WVCTM Members Recognized

Allan Meck and Amy CowgillAllan Meck and Amy CowgillWVCTM Members Allan Meck of Hampshire High School in Hampshire County, and Amy Cowgill of Frankfort High School in Mineral County were recognized at the State Teacher of the Year Gala in Charleston.  Both Meck and Cowgill are teachers of the year in their respective counties.  Meck currently serves as the WVCTM Vice President for the high school level.  Congratulations to both educators.

2019 WVCTM Awards
Chair winner Myrtle Holland with her family.Chair winner Myrtle Holland with her family.The most prestigious award given by WVCTM is the Distinguished Service Award, presented to the individual who has done exemplary work statewide in mathematics education.  The award includes a Captain’s Chair with an engraved plaque, hence it is often referred to as “The Chair” Award. The 2019 recipient is Myrtle Holland, a teacher Musselman Middle School in Berkeley County.

Mrs. Holland is a National Board-certified teacher and was one of the first group of Project MERIT teachers. She helped take the state Math Standards through several different versions, revisions, and titles and has actively worked on textbook review committees over the years. A graduate of Ediboro University of Pennsylvania, with a Master’s degree from WVU, she has 37 years of teaching experience. Her list of accomplishments in the field could fill another page of text. Highlights include being a unit writer for Academic Innovations/WVU, serving as an SBAC Scale Score Panel member, being involved with Math Field Day, serving as a facilitator and author in WVLearns Online, and serving as Math Department Chair at MMS (2014-2016).


She has served as the President and Middle School Vice President of WVCTM and was named the organization’s Middle School Math Teacher of the Year in 2012. At the recent conference, she was elected President-Elect of WVCTM.

WVCTM Mathematics Teachers of the Year are those who exemplify the highest standards of mathematics teaching and provide a role model for their colleagues.

WVCTM College Teacher of the Year Joseph WoodWVCTM College Teacher of the Year Joseph WoodJoseph Wood was named as the WVCTM 2019 College/University Teacher of the Year.  Wood is a professor at Glenville State College.  

Wood has worked on curriculum development at Glenville and works to develop grant proposals to improve mathematics teacher quality in the state. He helps students integrate technology into their work and is a regular presenter at WVCTM conferences.

WVCTM High School Teacher of the Year Mark PurcellWVCTM High School Teacher of the Year Mark Purcell
Mark Purcell was recognized as the 2019 WVCTM High School Mathematics Teacher of the Year.  Purcell is a teacher at Parkersburg High School.  

His nomination included the following statements: “Mark encourages discourse and creates activities that allow students to share their strategies for problem-solving, which leads to a deeper understanding of concepts. Mark has been nominated for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching... [He has risen] to a level of leadership among his peers and is often involved with county level and state level workshops and trainings that benefit the math department at PHS and the students in that building.” A student wrote: “He makes math fun, and I understand math when he teaches it.”

2019 WVCTM Election Results

The following individuals were elected to serve a two-year term as officers of WVCTM: Myrtle Holland (Musselman Middle School) as President-Elect; Matthew Campbell (West Virginia University) as College/University Vice President; Adam Fletcher (Bethany College) as Secretary; and Joy Hunt (Birch PreK-6 School) as Member at Large.

Other Awards from the 2019 Conference
At the banquet of the annual conference, Roger Bennett, Golden Holtan Grant chair, shared the purpose of the Golden Holtans, the new awardees of these grants, and encouragement for future applicants.  Named for Dr. Boyd Holtan, a retired professor from West Virginia University, the Golden Holtans are grants for practicing classroom teachers for development of a particular project in their classrooms.  Checks for each of the selected projects were presented by Dr. Holtan and Mr. Bennett.
This year’s Golden Holtan Grant recipients were Crystal Wheeler from the Village of Barboursville Elementary School in Cabell County and Jennifer McIntosh from Parkersburg South High School in Wood County.
Poster Contest Winners

Each year, teachers from around the state are encouraged to have their students make posters promoting mathematics learning.  The winner of the high school/college category determines the theme of the next year's WVCTM Conference.  This year's high school/college winner was Glenna Alt from Hampshire High School in Hampshire County.  Her poster, titled "Blast Off Into Math and Technology" will be the theme of the 2020 WVCTM Conference.  Ms. Alt's teacher-sponsor of her entry was HHS teacher Rowanne Shockey.

Other poster winners were: 

PreK-K  1st Eva Armhine, 2nd Kaylee Bidinger, and 3rd Isaac Edwards.  All students were from Springfield/Green Spring Elementary, Hampshire Co. (Teacher Gayle Allen).

Grade 1-2   1st Lily Brogan, Franklin Elementary, Pendleton Co. (Teacher Kim George), 2nd Aleonna Tucker, Matewan PK-8, Mingo Co. (Teacher Melissa Hackney), 3rd Ally Londes, Moorefield Elementary, Hardy Co. (Teacher Sabrina Dean)

Grade 3-5  1st Dawson Kenney, Buckhannon Academy Elementary, Upshur Co. (Teacher Sherri Hoover), 2nd Parker Mobley, Poca Elementary, Putnam Co. (Teacher Vickie Beller), 3rd Alexa Magee, Buckhannon Academy Elementary, Upshur Co. (Teacher Sherri Hoover)

Grade 6-8       1st Sybil Willis, Moundsville Middle School, Marshall Co. (Teacher Amy Ritz), 2nd Joleigh Young, Moundsville Middle School, Marshall Co. (Teacher Amy Ritz), 3rd Lily Resnik, Musselman Middle School, Berkeley Co. (Teacher Myrtle Holland)

High School/College Finalists   Daniel Medzius, Pendleton County High, Pendleton Co. (Teacher Cathy Bennett), Katie Scott, Pendleton County High, Pendleton Co. (Teacher Cathy Bennett), Stephanie Cottrell, Fairmont State University (Teacher Dennine Larue)


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>